simply grateful

Monday this ship started taking on water. The ocean I had been so happily sailing along in suddenly seemed vast and unconquerable with no shore in sight. I think it was the panic over my senior thesis project that really rocked the boat.

Sometimes stress can be a motivator but when it gets like that, I just shut down, start drowning a little. It’s terribly tempting to go back to bed and hide under the covers. Which is what I did. Then I woke up this morning and had a message in my inbox reminding me to be grateful from the captain of motivation.

  • I am grateful I have a faithful snuffly alarm clock so that I get to see the sun rise.
  • I am grateful for my baby sister, who is fierce and funny. We’re like a really small gang.
  • I am grateful that my parents would leave the moment I called them at 2 am and come for me, which has happened.
  • I am grateful for the beautiful hearts of my friends, women I never thought I would find.
  • I am grateful I can walk into a room full of strangers and feel like family on a Saturday night.
  • I am grateful for my best friend who’s been there since I was 16 with the muffin jokes.
  • I am grateful I met the captain of motivation in the park because just being around him makes me want to be better.
  • I am grateful for my ugly runner’s feet and all the miles they’ve taken me.
  • I am grateful I have a beautiful home to unlock the front door to.
  • I am grateful for falling so far and the scars gathered on the way down, otherwise I wouldn’t get to be this person today.

I am grateful.

Today, take a deep breath. Think about the challenges you are facing and remember they are there to make you better. Be simply grateful. Today, you are alive and loved.

And remember, you were given this life because you are strong enough to live it.

One thought on “simply grateful

  1. Dang. This is not only just what i needed, but it is pure truth. So encouraging. So poetically written. Thanks for the simple reminder to be grateful. Life is far too great to be taken advantage of. This is beautiful.

Leave a comment