humbled.

“Do not be deceived, God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows.” ~Galations 6:7

I brought someone to church with me today. I get nervous bringing new people now, because I’m protective of this place. It holds such a special place in my heart I both want to share it with the world and keep it somewhere safe where no one can hurt it. Today, I choose to share it.

We never truly know how our lives are impacting those around us. It’s hard to always be authentic; some days it would be so much easier to just go with the rest of the crowd, try to fit in, be like everyone else. We don’t want to be weird or unusual or some kind of freak.

We want to be accepted and loved and valued. Sometimes we think the only way to do that is to hide who we really are.

This is a lie.

It’s a lie the enemy loves to whisper in your ear: it makes you uncomfortable proclaiming your love for Jesus, makes you feel awkward talking about God, makes you think you aren’t good enough as you are.

Lie, lie, lie.

It’s a lie I hear every day and that I must fight against.

Be brave enough to be exactly who you are. Let your heart shine in all its glory. That goodness in you, it’s seeds you scatter wherever you go. Because you know what? Someone might just see your heart for God and want the same thing for themselves. You never know how or where or when lives will be touched because you had the courage to bring heaven to earth.

I got this message a couple hours after service:

“I’ve been trying to think of a way to tell you this ’cause it’s pretty humbling. I’ve never not had God in my life, but there have been times where I’m not as close with Him as other times in my life. Being around you has really brought new light with my relationship with God; the way you are so enthusiastic and happy. It shines from you and has made me want to be closer with Him. I don’t want you to think that I haven’t been close with Him because I really do have a strong relationship with Him: I’m proud of it and I like to think I practice it in my daily life. But, you just are an inspiration and make me want to continue on and deepen my relationship.”

As we sow, we shall reap, tenfold.

I cannot fully express to you how humbled I am to have these kinds of words written to me. My heart was filled with such a sweet joy, because I always ask God, “When they look at me, do they see You?”

Even if it is just one person, one life that you touch, there is no telling how far the spirit will move. Fight against all the uncertainties and the fear of rejection and shake off the labels. Your heart moves in ways that are beautiful.

 

Be humbled by the truth of it: you are holy because He is holy.

1 Peter 1:13-16

Leave a Reply

