A Letter on a Typewriter

Sunday had God’s thumbprints all over it.

From the time I woke up to the time I went to bed, there was this lightness inside, like the Holy Spirit was following me around.

A few weeks ago, we had a sermon over at Citipointe on how God wants to bless us, that He wants good things for us, that He hides joy throughout the day for us to find. Wow. Sunday was like that.

Once you start looking for the good things, they start showing up everywhere.

As the semester draws to a close, finals signify the end of months of projects and papers and homework and tests. Usually, the end of the semester is a time for dancing around in celebration that you made it through. A certain melancholy has been stalking me, though. This semester I’ve met such incredible people in the seats next to me. While we don’t really interact outside of the classroom, I’m going to miss them all. They brightened my day, making me laugh through the stress and procrastination. They’ve inspired me to be better.

One person in particular just about made me cry Sunday. We’ve been friends since the first group project in a literary criticism class back in August. We also happened to be in the same philosophy class. Naturally, we met to study for our philosophy exams (me being an English major and not a philosophizer). The midterm study sesh was less about Asian philosophy and more about our own beliefs. It was probably one of the best conversations I have ever had.

I love the stories people carry.

For our final exam, we spent a solid three hours in the library. We sit down to go over the review sheet, and I’m handed this folded piece of paper.

For Sarah.

I can’t open it until they leave. Naturally, I’m dying from curiosity. The minute they leave, I abandon all pretense of vocab memorization and slowly unfold the single sheet of paper.

It’s written from a typewriter. It’s written from the heart. It’s written with kindness.

I’m speechless. The words resting on the page, they filled my heart to the brim. It was so unexpected, so genuine, so… beautiful.

love_
Román P. G. | Creative Commons

I just felt incredibly blessed, receiving a gift like that. It was simple and true. I have never received anything quite like it. I don’t know if our paths will continue to run parallel after this semester. It saddens me to think we may not have another class together. We encounter people for a reason, though, sparks rubbing against each other, passing in the velvet night. Love takes so many, many forms.

I will keep that letter always.

Leave a Reply

