in the woods

Let’s be honest for a minute.


Disney taught me a lot of things about dating. Please refer to the image for the most important lesson. –>

Seriously, though. Dating is weird. Am I right, ladies?

There’s all these expectations. We look for signs. Does he like me? What does this mean? Why hasn’t he texted me? Should I ask him out? We analyze. We judge. We compare.

We should stop.

This guy you’ve been seeing, he’s a person just like you. I don’t buy into this whole men- and- women- are- completely- different- species theory that gets perpetuated.

While I myself am a little old-fashioned when it comes to men (open the door, pick me up, help me into my coat, ask my dad for permission), I believe it’s just as weird for them as it is for us.

You think you’re nervous? He’s been working up his courage for weeks just to say hi.

You wonder what you’ll talk about? He’s trying not to say anything stupid that’ll make you think he’s an idiot.

You are worrying about who is going to hold whose hand? He’s hoping his palms aren’t sweaty.

See? Dating is weird.

It’s really just two people, trying to get to know each other a little better. We’ve all got our insecurities, bad hair days, and crazy stories. I know I do.

Maybe it’s because it’s been so long since I’ve had a proper date or maybe it’s the way my heart’s been changed, but I date differently now.

Ladies, take the pressure off. Let him just be himself and acknowledge that we’re all just people. It’s supposed to be fun, not a pass/fail test.

Try not to let your crazy show through too much, though. Otherwise, they will run for the hills.

And, you’ll be back to hanging out in the woods.

4 thoughts on “in the woods

  1. well I know what you mean, but in my opinion you know who is the one when even in his presence you feel like you are at home.
    Ah, and my favorite Disney scene of all the ones you got there is the Pocahontas one. There when she introduces John Smith to grandmother willow.
    Blessings

  2. This is so true and I have come to terms with this fact in my relationship with my boyfriend. We are both people and we both need things from each other. After the beginning “honeymoon” phase, you get to know the real people each other are. It’s tough, but once you come to a realization like that, you can make it! Although, I really wish my life was like a Disney movie.

  3. Hahaha this is hilarious. It’s so true! Dating can be hard lol The crazy part for sure.. I didn’t let my boyfriend see my crazy until he was already hooked haha 🙂
    My friend didn’t learn that lesson, however, after her first kiss with a boy she said “I think we’re soulmates” eeeep. I’m not gonna lie I facepalmed. Except the best part of that story is that the boy she said it to is just as awkward and adorable as she is and he didn’t mind one bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

