sunsets + strangers

If it wasn’t for the black dog, I would miss out on so many glorious sunrises and sunsets! Like last night, for example..

Anybody else watch the sunset? I wish I was a painter sometimes, so I could capture nature on a canvas. It would never work out. Sadly, I don’t even have a picture to show the awesomeness (because 1. I don’t have a fancy phone and 2. it wouldn’t have captured it anyways).

Mondays.are.exhausting. awesome. By the time I made it home, all I wanted to do was lay on the couch. We all know that doesn’t fly with a dog. 5:30 is crazy time and WE MUST GO OUTSIDE. Otherwise, big brown eyes stare at me. He even cries. Who can say no to a big butch boy making sad noises? I certainly can’t. Ever. It’s a problem.

I had to at least eat dinner first. The whole time: doggy stare, sad noises. Needless to say, I ate quickly and we were out the door. Thank goodness for his timing.

We walked through the park, and saw the gloriousness of the sun sinking down. Made me reminisce on sweet summertime, the way the sky was so blue. It was completely my favorite color. As we meandered through the neighborhood, people were coming out of their homes, looking up.

Some kind of amazing grace in that. How the colors of the sky could bring us together, unite us for an evening. The family with the baby. The old man on the corner. The girl with a crippled German Shepard. The soccer moms. Everyone standing together, looking up.

Thank you, God, for sunsets + strangers. And, of course, the big silly black dog.

I wish I could take credit for this but it’s from my neighbor, and it’s not even last night’s sunset. However, it is our park! Love Colorado.
One thought on “sunsets + strangers

Leave a Reply

