for the boys

So, I know I write a lot of stuff for women, girls like me who’ve cried themselves to sleep, go on long runs, and like to laugh when it rains.

This one’s for the boys.

I want to thank the men in my life who have shown me more about love and life than I could have ever thought possible. Each and every one of you has changed me somehow (whether you meant to or not!) You’ve shown me that good men do exist and that they want good women.

Guys, I appreciate that you hold the door open for me. I’m especially touched if you hold the car door open for me, too.

The older I get, the sexier responsibility is. You are working your tail off to land a good job, to get through school, to become financially secure. Keep working hard. It’s hot.

Stand up for what you believe in. And, know why you believe in it. There’s no bigger turn off than ignorance. We may not see eye to eye, but I respect that you can stand firm in your beliefs.

Bear hugs. Need I say more?

It really is the thought that counts. Yeah, that picnic may have been cheap wine and crackers. But, I know how much planning you put into that date. I won’t soon forget the level of thoughtfulness that was demonstrated.

Gentlemen, act out of kindness. Be polite. Hold doors, buy flowers, offer to pay for dinner. Get creative and put in a little effort, a little thought. It goes such a long ways. Call me old-fashioned, but those are the things that I appreciate.

We’ve all been hurt by the opposite sex. We’ve all cried into our ice cream over a lost love. Don’t let it jade you, make you a cynic. Women, don’t write off a good guy just because someone screwed you over in the past. Men, don’t confuse vulnerability with weakness. We all want to be loved just for who we are.

Let’s hear it for the boys: the ones who show up unannounced on your doorstep, the ones who pick flowers to put in your hair, the ones who believe in kindness, the ones that make you feel like a lady, the good ones.

Good guys; they don’t finish last.

2 thoughts on “for the boys

  1. “Men, don’t confuse vulnerability with weakness.”
    That is my favorite. Thanks for pointing that out. And I agree, it doesn’t have to be fancy shit to get the butterflies going. Simple acts of kindness make the world go round.

  2. I really appreciate this post! I try to be one of these guys, and I know my girlfriend appreciates it, but there are ladies in this world who whole-hearteldy hate these guys. Great post!

Leave a Reply

