too much

I care too much. I love too hard. I fall too fast. I hope too high.

I feel too much.

And, I’ve been led to believe this is not a good thing. To be vulnerable, to be braver than is necessary, to share those pieces of my heart that maybe should stay hidden away. I’m terrible at guarding my heart.

But, I don’t know how to guard my heart without building walls too high, too strong to lock the love out. I’d rather be hurt than be made of stone. I’d rather feel something than nothing at all.

Good Women Project

As women, we want to be strong, brave, and beautiful. But, the very thing that makes us so we have been told to rein in. Please don’t misunderstand me. There’s no need to make mountains out of molehills, to let your emotions run amok. However, it is okay to feel, to really feel, to share that with the world. Because your heart, my heart, is strong, brave, and beautiful.

Don’t let them call you a crazy emotional female for wanting to be true to that heart.

Someone recently told me, “We’re all crazy, but it’s the people who aren’t afraid to show it that oftentimes make the biggest impact in this world.”

If I’m excited to see you, expect my face to light up. If I’m into you, expect me to let you know. If I’m hurting, expect me to cry. If I’m struggling, expect to see the pain. If I care about you, expect a bear hug (not that weak one-armed nonsense.) If I love you, expect me to show you.

Because I am transparent and vulnerable and I only know how to be who I am.

So.

I care too much. I love too hard. I fall too fast. I hope too high.

I feel too much.

But, I am not too much. This heart is not too much.

I am enough.

Leave a Reply

