3:47 a.m. and my life be like

To be alive is to be brave. To say yes is to be brave. Even when your knees are shaking and your palms are sweaty. Don’t you know they say life begins at the end of your comfort zone?

I have never thought of myself as adventurous or brave. I was quiet. I was shy. I was afraid. I am still quiet. I am still shy. I am still afraid. But I am brave. It’s not necessary that you think so. It’s necessary that I think so. I’m brave about coffee dates. I’m brave about adoption. I’m brave about faith. I’m brave about climbing mountains. And it’s turning out more amazing than I could have ever dreamed.

The two hardest things I did this week? I climbed a damn mountain with a stranger and I opened up my heart a little to a kindred spirit.

Doesn’t seem like such a big deal, right? Maybe, maybe not. It required some part of me that was screeching NO, STAY HOME ON THE COUCH, NO YOU DON’T HAVE THE RIGHT WORDS. Too late, I told that voice, too late, I’ve already said yes. Isn’t there some saying like that? About it only taking 20 seconds of insane courage to change your life?

Be brave. Be courageous. It’s gonna be awesome, I promise. Even if you’re scared to death and it’s 3:47 a.m. 

3 thoughts on “3:47 a.m. and my life be like

  1. This is a great post! About being brave and courageous for yourself (referring to people in general) so you can live your best life! I would agree with you when it comes to going out of my way to leave my comfort zone, at which point I have more fun than I could’ve imagined. It’s a great way to live life!

  2. It is indeed difficult to find the courage to follow your heart and do what’s right. And it’s so awesome when one does challenge their self. Whenever I get up the courage to do something I don’t want to, the results are overwhelmingly positive. It’s easy to stay home on the couch, but it’s rewarding to get up and go what scares you most. It’s how we grow and how we enliven our souls. Go get ’em girl! 🙂

  3. We Bought a Zoo. Nice reference. When I read the line about 20 seconds of courage, I was trying to think of what movie I had seen with that in it before I scrolled over your link. I like how the language in some of your posts sounds poetic. Maybe it’s the short sentences which creates a flow to it.

Leave a Reply

